



EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL OF GOVERNORS MEETING Unconfirmed Minutes of the meeting held on 4th April 2022 at 16:00 Via video conference

Present:	Claire Ward Ian Holden Kevin Stewart Martin Stott Nadia Whitworth Nikki Slack Roz Norman	Chair Public Governor Public Governor Public Governor Appointed Governor Appointed Governor Staff Governor	CW IH KS MS NW NS RN
In Attendance:	Shirley Higginbotham Sue Bradshaw	Director of Corporate Affairs Minutes	SH
Apologies:	Councillor Craig Whitby Councillor David Walters David Ainsworth Jacqueline Lee John Wood Lawrence Abrams Linda Dales Philip Marsh Sue Holmes	Appointed Governor Appointed Governor Appointed Governor Staff Governor Public Governor Public Governor Appointed Governor Appointed Governor Public Governor Public Governor Public Governor	CrW DW DA JL JW LA LD PM SuH
Absent:	Ann Mackie Gerald Smith Jayne Revill Maxine Huskinson Richard Boot	Public Governor Public Governor Staff Governor Public Governor Staff Governor	AM GS JR MH RB

The meeting was via video conference. All participants confirmed they were able to hear each other and were present throughout the meeting, except where indicated.





Item No.	Item	Action	Date
22/386	CHAIR'S WELCOME, APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE AND QUORACY CHECK		
1 min	The meeting being quorate CW declared the meeting open at 16:00. The meeting was held by video conference. All participants confirmed they were able to hear each other.		
	It was CONFIRMED that apologies for absence had been received from:		
	Councillor Craig Whitby, Appointed Governor Councillor David Walters, Appointed Governor David Ainsworth, Appointed Governor Jacqueline Lee, Staff Governor John Wood, Public Governor Lawrence Abrams, Public Governor Linda Dales, Appointed Governor Philip Marsh, Public Governor Sue Holmes, Public Governor and Lead Governor		
00/007			
22/387	DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST		
1 min	There were no declarations of interest pertaining to any items on the agenda.		
22/388	APPOINTMENT OF NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR		
4 mins	SH presented the report, highlighting the recruitment process for the vacant Non-Executive Director (NED) post and advising a total of four applications were received. Unfortunately, one applicant lived outside the Trust's constituency and one was not a qualified accountant and, therefore, was not applicable for appointment. The remaining two candidates were invited for interview, which took place on 15 th March 2022.		
	Following the interviews, it is recommended the Council of Governors support the appointment of Andrew Rose-Britton, who has a wealth of financial experience and knowledge, having worked in the private sector as Company Secretary and Finance Director for a number of years.		
	RS queried if Andrew had provided assurance he would be able to commit the required time to the NED role. CW advised this assurance has been received. Andrew is no longer a finance director for a company but undertakes consultancy work. CW advised she had spoken to Andrew after the interview and he reassured her that he would have the time required to commit to the NED role. He observed the last meeting of the Finance Committee in order to start the handover process prior to final approval.		
	KS advised he met Andrew at the last Finance Committee meeting and sought assurance an appropriate handover would take place between Andrew and Neal Gossage, the outgoing Chair of the Finance Committee.		





	LOW 1: 10 T	N. 50-50	
	CW advised the Trust was keen to make the appointment now in order to give a month for the handover to take place prior to Neal leaving at the end of April 2022. Andrew and Neal will work together to facilitate the April meeting of the Finance Committee.		
	SH advised there is a Board development session in April 2022 which Andrew will be able to attend.		
	The Council APPROVED the recommendation to appoint Andrew Rose-Britton as Non-Executive Director for SFHFT.		
22/389	ANY OTHER BUSINESS		
min	No other business was raised.		
22/390	DATE AND TIME OF NEXT MEETING		
	Date: Tuesday 10 th May 2022 Time: 17:30 Venue: Lecture Theatre 2 (TBC)		
	There being no further business CW declared the meeting closed at 16:05.		
	Signed by the Chair as a true record of the meeting, subject to any amendments duly minuted.		
	Claire Ward Chair Date		





Attendance at Full COG (scheduled meetings)

	AREA COVERED	JENCY	FULL COG MEETING DATES				OFFICE	ELECTED	NDS
NAME		CONSTITUENCY	10/05/2022	09/08/2022	08/11/2022	Feb 2023	TERMS OF	DATE	TERM ENDS
Ann Mackie	Newark & Sherwood	Public					3	01/05/19	30/04/22
Councillor Craig Whitby	Mansfield District Council	Appointed					4	21/05/19	31/05/23
Councillor David Walters	Ashfield District Council	Appointed					1	23/04/20	31/05/21
Councillor Linda Dales	Newark & Sherwood District Council	Appointed					1	15/07/21	31/05/22
David Ainsworth	Mansfield & Ashfield CCG	Appointed					N/A	20/02/20	N/A
Gerald Smith	Mansfield	Public					3	01/05/19	30/04/22
Ian Holden	Newark & Sherwood	Public					3	01/05/19	30/04/22
Jacqueline Lee	Newark Hospital	Staff					3	01/05/19	30/04/22
Jayne Revill	King's Mill Hospital	Staff					3	01/05/19	30/04/22
John Wood	Mansfield	Public					3	01/05/19	30/04/22
Kevin Stewart	Ashfield	Public					3	01/05/19	30/04/22
Lawrence Abrams	Rest of East Midlands	Public					3	01/05/19	30/04/22
Martin Stott	Newark & Sherwood	Public					3	01/05/19	30/04/22
Maxine Huskinson	Ashfield	Public					3	01/11/20	31/10/23
Nadia Whitworth	Volunteers	Appointed					3	10/05/21	10/05/24
Nikki Slack	Vision West Notts	Appointed					N/A	17/07/19	N/A
Philip Marsh	Ashfield	Public					3	01/05/19	30/04/22
Richard Boot	Newark Hospital	Public					3	01/05/19	30/04/22
Roz Norman	King's Mill Hospital	Staff					3	01/05/19	30/04/22
Sue Holmes	Ashfield	Public					3	01/11/20	31/10/23

P = Present

A = Apologies X = Absent





Attendance at Extraordinary COG meetings

NAME	AREA COVERED	CONSTITUENCY	04/04/2022 EO COG	TERMS OF OFFICE	DATE ELECTED	TERM ENDS
Ann Mackie	Newark & Sherwood	Public	X	3	01/05/19	30/04/22
Councillor Craig Whitby	Mansfield District Council	Appointed	Α	4	21/05/19	31/05/23
Councillor David Walters	Ashfield District Council	Appointed	Α	1	23/04/20	31/05/21
Councillor Linda Dales	Newark & Sherwood District Council	Appointed	A	1	15/07/21	31/05/22
David Ainsworth	Mansfield & Ashfield CCG	Appointed	Α	N/A	20/02/20	N/A
Gerald Smith	Mansfield	Public	X	3	01/05/19	30/04/22
Ian Holden	Newark & Sherwood	Public	Р	3	01/05/19	30/04/22
Jacqueline Lee	Newark Hospital	Staff	Α	3	01/05/19	30/04/22
Jayne Revill	King's Mill Hospital	Staff	Х	3	01/05/19	30/04/22
John Wood	Mansfield	Public	Α	3	01/05/19	30/04/22
Kevin Stewart	Ashfield	Public	Р	3	01/05/19	30/04/22
Lawrence Abrams	Rest of East Midlands	Public	Α	3	01/05/19	30/04/22
Martin Stott	Newark & Sherwood	Public	Р	3	01/05/19	30/04/22
Maxine Huskinson	Ashfield	Public	Х	3	01/11/20	31/10/23
Nadia Whitworth	Volunteers	Appointed	Р	3	10/05/21	10/05/24
Nikki Slack	Vision West Notts	Appointed	Р	N/A	17/07/19	N/A
Philip Marsh	Ashfield	Public	Α	3	01/05/19	30/04/22
Richard Boot	Newark Hospital	Public	X	3	01/05/19	30/04/22
Roz Norman	King's Mill Hospital	Staff	Р	3	01/05/19	30/04/22
Sue Holmes	Ashfield	Public	Α	3	01/11/20	31/10/23

P = Present

A = Apologies

X = Absent