Staff Excellence Awards shortlist announced

Posted Wednesday, October 16, 2019 8:45 AM

The final shortlist for this year’s Staff Excellence Awards has been announced!
More than 500 nominations were received from staff, patients and visitors for, both teams and individuals, in a number of categories, including categories that represent our four CARE values and special categories.

The judging took place in September and included members of the Board of Directors, Foundation Trust Governors, Staff Side representatives, representatives from the local media, a patient and #TeamSFH.

Chief Executive, Richard Mitchell, said: "We received a fantastic number of nominations from staff and the public this year that were of excellent quality. Thank you to everyone who took the time to complete a nomination form as it will mean so much to the person or team nominated.

“I know that the judges had a tough decision choosing the shortlist this year and they commented that the quality was better than ever. All teams and individuals that were nominated should take pride in the fact that a colleague or a patient has taken the time to nominate them for the care or service they provide. I have written to every single person who was nominated to let them know and to thank them personally for their commitment to SFH.

“I am proud of the hard work and dedication shown by all staff across our hospitals and I would like to thank all of you for your support over the past 12 months.  I’m really looking forward to the awards event and to celebrating with those of you who have been shortlisted."

Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony and dinner on the evening of Friday 8 November.
The shortlist is as follows:

Communicating and Working Together

Jackie Briggs – Specialist Nurse
Janis Richardson – Flow Co-ordinator
Sue MacDonald – Receptionist/Trust HQ Admin Assistant

Menopause Awareness Team
Occupational Health Team
Theatre Orderly Team

Aspiring and Improving

Dan Smith – Leadership Registrar/Respiratory
Denise Davies – Ward Sister (Minster Ward)
Elizabeth Smith – Senior Pelvic, Obstetrics and Gynaecology Physiotherapist

Sterile Services
Street Health
Transition Project Team

The Kate Granger Award for Respectful and Caring

Diane Taylor – Deputy Ward Sister
Jackie Hatton – Stoma Care Nurse
Michelle Hutchinson – Staff Nurse, Ward 25

Civility Saves Lives Team
Minster Day Case
Theatre Recovery
Ward 34

Efficient and Safe
Dionne Archer – Specialist Occupational Therapist
Jeanette Lee – Physiotherapy Assistant
Tracy Dring – Lead for Training and Clinical Advisor for Medical Equipment

Governance Support Unit
Pelvic Obstetric and Gynaecology Physiotherapy Team
Pharmacy Supply Team

Most Improved Team
Inpatient Therapy Team – Mansfield Community Hospital
Newark Theatre Team
Operational Human Resources Team

Non-Clinical Services Award
Helena Stockdale – Outpatient Reception Supervisor
Kim Mattison – Rostering Services Team Manager
Sharon Fleming – Audit Clerk
Shirley Timson – Clinic Prep Coordinator

Central Admin Team – Outpatient Booking Team
Edith Dawson and Rodney Warden – Chaplains
Garry Keay and Ashley Wortley – Grounds Men

People’s Award
Amputee Rehabilitation Team (Clinic 10)
Anita Edwards – Activities Co-ordinator (Ward 53)
Phil Bolger – Intensive Care Nurse

Rising Star
Alison Pearson – Assistant Human Resources Business Partner
Louise McMenemy – Operations Manager
Rachel Cope – Senior PPC

Chris McFarlane Award for Training and Development
Jaycey Featherstone – Assistant Practitioner
Justin Wyatt – Ward Leader, Ward 43
Louise Storry – Work Experience Co-ordinator

Volunteer of Year
Andrew Cornell
Community Involvement Hub volunteers
Joe Lewis
MRI volunteers Newark

Fundraiser of the Year
Janet Jackson – Audit Secretary
Karen Wood – Ward Clerk (Fernwood Community Unit)
Ward 25

Star of the Year – Clinical
Kate Walton
Louise Heath
Wayne Robinson
Star of the Year – Non-clinical
Joe Lewis
Lizzie Lineker
Paul Holt

Please join us in congratulating everyone shortlisted.

Thank you to all of our sponsors without whom this event would not be possible: Sherwood Forest Hospitals Charity, Central Nottinghamshire Hospitals plc, Medirest, Skanska, Touch Design, Perfect Ward, University of Derby and Vivup.

News Archives