Winners announced for hospital Trust’s annual awards ceremony

Posted Wednesday, October 12, 2022 10:28 AM

Winners announced for hospital Trust’s annual awards ceremony

Sherwood Forest Hospitals Trust is pleased to announce the full list of winners for its annual Excellence Awards, which took place in a live virtual ceremony on Friday 7 October 2022.

On the night, a total of 18 awards were handed out to honour teams and individuals in categories such as ‘Rising Star’, ‘Multidisciplinary Team of the Year’ and ‘Volunteer of the year’. The prestigious Chair’s Award, which recognises an individual or team in recognition of their outstanding service to the Trust was also presented to the team running the Sherwood Community Unit which was created to help reduce the pressures on our hospital and free up beds for those who need them most.

The awards are an important date in the Trust’s calendar, giving employees the opportunity to honour and recognise colleagues who go above and beyond in their roles. Following a tough couple of years during the global pandemic, it is more important than ever that we acknowledge the hard work of all colleagues, and the awards are an opportunity for the Trust to thank all those who have worked tirelessly during the last two years and continue to do so.

The Trust relies on its incredible army of volunteers to assist in keeping services running smoothly and recognises this commitment with the Volunteer of the Year Award, which is sponsored by the Newark Advertiser. This year the award was presented to the Newark Main Reception Team, who play an integral part in supporting services at Newark Hospital. The Trust’s team of 380 volunteers provide such a valuable service across the Trust to our patients, visitors and staff in 26 varied roles. 

Members of the Newark Main Reception Team

The People’s Award, sponsored by Mansfield and Ashfield Chad, gives members of the public the opportunity to thank colleagues or teams working across the Trust’s three hospital sites. This year the Midwifery Team were the deserving recipients of this award and were commended for their exceptional, patient-centred care as well as their calm, caring approach.

Members of the Midwifery Team

Paul Robinson, Chief Executive at Sherwood Forest Hospitals Trust said: “Our recent Staff Survey results showed that Sherwood Forest Hospitals Trust is a fantastic place to work, and this is all down to the people who work for us. Day in, day out they show their hard work and dedication in their dealings with patients, colleagues, and visitors alike. The calibre of those nominated this year was truly outstanding and I am honoured to be the head of a Trust with such an amazing workforce. I would like to wish a huge congratulations to all of the winners, as well as those nominated.”

You can find the full list of winners below:

Multidisciplinary Team of the Year Award
Electronic Prescribing and Medicine Administration Team

Most Improved Team Award
Diabetes Specialist Nursing Team

Chris McFarlane Award for Training and Development
Charikleia Kalogeri

Rising Star Award
Sana Awan

Team of the Year Award 

Individual of the Year
Pauline Hurt and Vanessa Bramley (dual nomination)

Nursery, Midwifery & AHP Team
Ward 14

Nursery, Midwifery & AHP Individual
Louise Heath

Doctor, Consultant Team
Acute medicine

Doctor, Consultant Individual
Will Dudill

Specialist Healthcare Team
Cancer Information & Support Team

Specialist Healthcare Individual
Sana Awan

Volunteer of the Year
Newark Main Reception Team

Fundraiser of the Year
Lisa Thompson

External Partner of the Year
Andrew Cropley, Principal at West Notts College

CARE Award         
Ward 43 - Elective Orthopaedics (previously ward 21)

The Chair’s Award
Sherwood Community Unit

The People's Award sponsored by The Chad
The Midwifery Team


News Archives