Local Hospital Trust announces shortlist for Excellence Awards

Posted Thursday, June 8, 2023 12:23 PM

Local Hospital Trust announces shortlist for Excellence Awards

The finalists in Sherwood Forest Hospitals Trust’s 2023 Excellence Awards have been revealed.

Nearly 500 nominations were received across 19 categories for the Trust’s staff and volunteers who go above and beyond. The aim of the awards is to shine a light on the amazing commitment that these individuals and teams make to Sherwood Forest Hospitals and the positive impact they have on services, patients, visitors and colleagues. 

Independent panels carefully considered each nomination to create a shortlist of three in each category and those shortlisted will be invited to an awards ceremony on Wednesday 5 July. The ceremony, which coincides with the NHS’ 75th birthday, will celebrate individuals, teams and volunteers working in clinical and non-clinical roles across the Trust’s King’s Mill Hospital, Mansfield Community Hospital and Newark Hospital sites. 

The shortlist for this year’s People’s Award, which was open to the public for nominations, includes an inspirational set of colleagues who deserve to be honoured for their hard work and professionalism.

Margaret King, who has worked in the Domestic Cleaning Team for 15 years, was nominated for the support she gives to young adults with learning difficulties whom she helps into further employment within the Trust.

The Specialist Nursing Team in Stoma Care have been shortlisted for the calm support and professionalism they provide day in and day out to patients under their care.

Jessica Smart, Haematology Specialist Nurse, was nominated for going above and beyond and genuinely caring about what her patients are going through.

Paul Robinson, Chief Executive, said of the nominees “What a fantastic bunch of individuals who have really shown their dedication to the Trust and our patients by going above and beyond in all that they do. It’s not hard to see why we were once again voted the best Trust to receive care and to work for in the Midlands.”

The awards also celebrate the outstanding contribution made by partners and members of the community who provide invaluable support to the Trust. The Community Heroes category acknowledges people living and working within the local community who help to make a positive difference.

Clare Harris, who runs the Emily Harris Foundation, has been shortlisted for raising more than £250,000 for the Neonatal Unit at King’s Mill Hospital since 2008.

Gilly Hagen, from Sutton-in-Ashfield, has been nominated for her work throughout the Covid-19 pandemic in helping to establish a community transport scheme that supported people to collect medications and get to appointments during lockdown.

Nikki Slack, Assistant Principal of West Nottinghamshire College, has been instrumental in the delivery of Trainee Nursing Associates, a programme which brought 50 new employees to the Trust. She is also an Appointed Governor for the Trust and contributes to the work we do across health and education for the benefit of our communities.

The awards are made possible due to charitable donations and generous contributions from corporate sponsors. This year the Trust were grateful for the support of sponsors ResMed, a provider of digital devices to help people with sleep apnoea and other chronic diseases and Sirona Medical, a UK-based Healthcare Recruitment Agency. A special thank you is made to Mansfield and Ashfield Chad for their continuous support in sponsoring the People’s Award, which gives members of the public the opportunity to acknowledge individual colleagues or teams working at the Trust for their dedication and commitment. A heartfelt thank you must also go to Sherwood Forest Hospitals Charity which provides much-needed funding and support for these Awards. 

The full awards shortlist:

Nursing, Midwifery & AHP Team of the Year Award

Stoma Nurses

Early Pregnancy Unit (Rainbow)       

Emergency Department (ED)


Nursing, Midwifery & AHP Individual of the Year Award

Kerry Hazard  

Emma Gregory          

Tina Worboys


Doctor and Consultant Team of the Year Award 


Acute Medicine          

Trauma and Orthopaedics


Doctor and Consultant Individual of the Year Award

Dr James Thomas     

Dr Amit Jaiswal          

Mr Chilamkurthi


Specialist Healthcare Team of the Year Award


Medical Equipment Management Department (MEMD)       

Hospital Out of Hours


Specialist Healthcare Individual of the Year Award

David Henton 

Jodie Prest     

Chris Moore


Multi-disciplinary Team of the Year

Maternity and the Badgernet Project Implementation team 

Equipment Library Teams     

Reporting Radiographers/Emergency Department (ED) Minors


Most Improved Team

Emergency Assessment Unit (EAU)

Orthoptic team

Pharmacy Wellbeing team


Chris McFarlane Award for Training and Development

Annette Robinson

Shelby Barnes

Samantha Dales


Rising Star Award

Lucy Skelton  

Rachel Grzelak          

Conall-Eve Silvester-Horvath


Lifetime Achievement Award (New for 2023)

Izzy Plumbe   

Gerrie Edwards          

Mr Ranjan Chowdhary


Non-clinical Team of the Year

Faith Centre Team     

Sterile Services Team

Clinical Illustration Team


Non-clinical Individual of the Year

Gayle Burton

Paul Holt        

Bernadette Clarke


Volunteer of the Year Award

John and Gill Dawson

Pam Weir       



Community Heroes Award

Clare Harris    

Nikki Slack

Gilly Hagen


Community Partner Award

Adam Hill, CEO Mansfield District Council

Matthew Lamb, Director of Newark and Sherwood District Council

Theresa Hodgkinson, CEO Ashfield District Council


The People’s Award in conjunction with the Mansfield and Ashfield Chad

Stoma team   

Margaret King

Jessica Smart


CARE Award 2023

Dr Morshed Abir        

Emma Strawther        

Lewis Halfpenny


Chair’s Award

The Chair Award will be presented to an individual or team on the night by the Chair of Sherwood Forest Hospitals Trust, Claire Ward, in recognition of their outstanding service to the Trust.


News Archives