Newark Hospital colleagues shortlisted for Trust Excellence Awards

Posted Friday, June 9, 2023 4:15 PM

Newark Hospital colleagues shortlisted for Trust Excellence Awards

The finalists in Sherwood Forest Hospitals Trust’s 2023 Excellence Awards have been revealed, with several nominations for colleagues based at the Trust’s Newark Hospital site.

Nearly 500 nominations were received across 19 categories for the Trust’s staff, volunteers and partners who go above and beyond. The aim of the awards is to shine a light on the amazing commitment that these individuals and teams make to Sherwood Forest Hospitals and the positive impact they have on services, patients, visitors and colleagues. 

Independent panels carefully considered each nomination to create a shortlist of three in each category and those shortlisted will be invited to an awards ceremony on Wednesday 5 July. The ceremony, which coincides with the NHS’ 75th birthday, will celebrate individuals, teams and volunteers working in clinical and non-clinical roles across the Trust’s three hospital sites.  

Pam Weir has been a volunteer at Newark Hospital for an impressive 22 years and currently works in the Radiology department at Newark Hospital. She has been shortlisted in the Volunteer of the Year category for going above and beyond in all that she does, for always greeting people with a smile and for putting patients at ease by treating everyone with courtesy and respect.

John and Jill Dawson (pictured), who volunteer in the Friends Coffee & Gift Shop at Newark Hospital were also nominated in this category. They were shortlisted for exuding genuine warmth, good humour and going the extra mile to help anyone requiring assistance.

The Newark Hospital Out of Hours service have also been nominated in the Specialist Healthcare Team category. The team have been described as going above and beyond every shift to enhance patient care and taking pride in everything they do.

Another Newark nomination comes for Mr Ranjan Chowdhary, the Clinical Lead at Newark Urgent Treatment Centre, who has been nominated for the Lifetime Achievement Award. He has been described as the glue holding the Newark Urgent Care team together, devoting his entire career to helping patients and often going above and beyond.

Finally, Kerry Hazard, Ward Leader of Sconce Ward, at Newark Hospital has received a nomination in the Nursing, Midwifery & AHP Individual of the Year category. Kerry has been nominated for being a role model to all staff as well as her passionate dedication to patient care.

David Ainsworth, Director of Strategy and Partnerships who oversees the Trust’s running of Newark Hospital, said: “It’s great that so many colleagues at our Newark Hospital site are being recognised for the amazing work they do. There is a common theme here around going above and beyond for patients and anyone attending the hospital will see this in action. Newark is a fantastic little hospital, a really friendly and welcoming place with a team who are dedicated to patient experience, and I hope that more people will elect to have their procedures here in the future.”

The awards also celebrate the outstanding contribution made by partners and members of the community who provide invaluable support to the Trust. The Community Partner category has been created for the Trust to say thank you to a local business, external group or initiative that has made a big impact on SFH.

Matthew Lamb, Director of Newark and Sherwood District Council has been shortlisted in this category for his work in helping SFH achieve its goals and for being responsive, flexible and easy to work with.

The awards are made possible due to charitable donations and generous contributions from corporate sponsors. This year the Trust were grateful for the support of sponsors ResMed, a provider of digital devices to help people with sleep apnoea and other chronic diseases and Sirona Medical, a UK-based Healthcare Recruitment Agency. A special thank you is made to Mansfield and Ashfield Chad for their continuous support in sponsoring the People’s Award, which gives members of the public the opportunity to acknowledge individual colleagues or teams working at the Trust for their dedication and commitment. A heartfelt thank you must also go to Sherwood Forest Hospitals Charity which provides much-needed funding and support for these Awards. 

The full awards shortlist:

Nursing, Midwifery & AHP Team of the Year Award

Stoma Nurses

Early Pregnancy Unit (Rainbow)       

Emergency Department (ED)


Nursing, Midwifery & AHP Individual of the Year Award

Kerry Hazard  

Emma Gregory          

Tina Worboys


Doctor and Consultant Team of the Year Award 


Acute Medicine          

Trauma and Orthopaedics


Doctor and Consultant Individual of the Year Award

Dr James Thomas     

Dr Amit Jaiswal          

Mr Chilamkurthi


Specialist Healthcare Team of the Year Award


Medical Equipment Management Department (MEMD)       

Hospital Out of Hours


Specialist Healthcare Individual of the Year Award

David Henton 

Jodie Prest     

Chris Moore


Multi-disciplinary Team of the Year

Maternity and the Badgernet Project Implementation team 

Equipment Library Teams     

Reporting Radiographers/Emergency Department (ED) Minors


Most Improved Team

Emergency Assessment Unit (EAU)

Orthoptic team

Pharmacy Wellbeing team


Chris McFarlane Award for Training and Development

Annette Robinson

Shelby Barnes

Samantha Dales


Rising Star Award

Lucy Skelton  

Rachel Grzelak          

Conall-Eve Silvester-Horvath


Lifetime Achievement Award (New for 2023)

Izzy Plumbe   

Gerrie Edwards          

Mr Ranjan Chowdhary


Non-clinical Team of the Year

Faith Centre Team     

Sterile Services Team

Clinical Illustration Team


Non-clinical Individual of the Year

Gayle Burton

Paul Holt        

Bernadette Clarke


Volunteer of the Year Award

John and Gill Dawson

Pam Weir       



Community Heroes Award

Clare Harris    

Nikki Slack

Gilly Hagen


Community Partner Award

Adam Hill, CEO Mansfield District Council

Matthew Lamb, Director of Newark and Sherwood District Council

Theresa Hodgkinson, CEO Ashfield District Council


The People’s Award in conjunction with the Mansfield and Ashfield Chad

Stoma team   

Margaret King

Jessica Smart

CARE Award 2023

Dr Morshed Abir        

Emma Strawther        

Lewis Halfpenny


Chair’s Award

The Chair Award will be presented to an individual or team on the night by the Chair of Sherwood Forest Hospitals Trust, Claire Ward, in recognition of their outstanding service to the Trust.

News Archives