Visiting update

From 1 January 2022, we have taken the difficult decision to suspend adult in-patient visiting in order to help protect our vulnerable patients. Please visit here for more information. 

Patient appointments

As we continue to see a rise in our urgent care admissions, a surge in admissions of Covid positive patients, and workforce shortages created by Covid isolation, some appointments for planned care may need to be delayed.

We will continue to prioritise urgent and emergency care and cancer treatments and we will do everything we can to avoid delaying care. If we need to take the difficult decision to delay appointments, we will contact affected patients directly to let them know. 

If you do not hear from us, please attend as requested in your appointment letter.


Staff Excellence Award 2021 Winners

Our Staff Excellence Awards celebrate individual members of staff, teams and volunteers who go above and beyond the call of duty and who have made a positive impact on our services, patients, visitors and colleagues.

The winners were announced at an awards ceremony on Friday 26 November at a virtual event. A full list of winners can be found here.

Congratulations to everyone who was shortlisted!

The Winners!

Nursing, Midwifery & AHP Award (Team)
Winner: King’s Mill Hospital and Newark Hospital Theatres
Runner up: Community Midwives, Ward 32

Nursing, Midwifery & AHP Award (Individual)
Joint winners: Sally Palmer, Nurse Consultant Infection Prevention and Control and Rebecca Loveridge, Head of Occupational Health/Lead Nurse
Runner up: Becky Holmes, Preceptorship Support Nurse

Doctor and Consultant Award (Team)
Winner: Colorectal Surgery Team
Runner up: Mr Chowdhary and Dr Waheed, Urgent Treatment Centre (Newark)

Doctor and Consultant Award (Individual)
Winner: Dr Owain Thompson, Consultant Anaesthetist
Runner up: Dr Jane Selwyn, GP -SFH Mass Vaccination Workforce; Dr Noor, Respiratory Consultant

Specialist Healthcare Award (Team)
Winner: Medical Equipment Management Department/Clinical Engineering
Runner up: Colorectal Nurse Specialists; Point of Care Testing Team

Specialist Healthcare Award (Individual)
Winner: Kathleen Millard, Clinical Chemistry Manager, Pathology
Highly Commended: Heidi Macmillan, Lead Nurse, Tissue Viability
Runner up: James Blacknell, Extended Scope Practitioner, Physiotherapy; Roy Dean, Chief Respiratory Physiologist, Cardio Respiratory

Multi-Disciplinary Team of the Year
Winner: Annual Leave and Overtime Working Group
Runner-up: Asymptomatic Testing Team; Climate Action Team

Most Improved Team
Winner: Security Team
Runner up: EAU; Ward 34

Chris Mcfarlane Award (for Training and Development)
Winner: Nikki Green, E-Learning Development Officer
Runner up: Jenny Shepherd, Paediatric Consultant, Ward 25; Sue Elliot, Medical Education Quality Manager

Clinical Rising Star
Winner: Elizabeth Smith, Senior Physiotherapist
Runner up: Amy Rowland, Physiotherapy Assistant; Declan Parsons, Physiotherapy Assistant

Non-Clinical Rising Star

Winner: Deborah Kearsley, Head of Operational HR
Runner up: Charlotte McIntyre, Communications Officer; Chloe Ward, Operations Assistant

Non-Clinical Services Team of the Year
Winner: Project Management Office
Runner up: Hostess and Catering Teams; Procurement

Non-Clinical Services Individual of the Year
Joint winners: Craig Short, Audit and Improvement Officer and Donna Mariner, Head of Recruitment and Rostering
Runner-up: Hayley Gannon, Pharmacy Stores Assistant

Volunteer of the Year Award
Winner: Margaret Hurrell, Butterfly Volunteer
Runner-up: Newark Hospital Main Reception Volunteers; MRI Volunteers (Newark)

Fundraiser of the Year Award
Winner: Joanna Freeman and the Pharmacy Team
Runner up: Lisa Thompson, Lymphedema Specialist Nurse; Sarah Sarjant and Maternity

Healthier Communities Award

Winner: Community Vaccination Programme
Runner up: Chaplaincy Team; OPAT

The People’s Award

Winner: Multi-disciplinary Team (including Mr Desai, Orthopaedics, Ward 21 & Occupational Therapy)
Runner-up: ICCU; Ward 25

CARE Award of the Year (Clinical)
Winner: Lisa Evans, Health Care Support Worker
Runner up: Julie Paget, Critical Care Nurse; Pat Burdzinska, Housekeeper

CARE Award of the Year (Non-clinical)
Joint winners: Jennie Cullen and Melanie Edgar, Patient Pathway Coordinators
Runner up: Stacey Watkinson-Brown, Pathology Supervisor

The Chair's Award
The Critical Care Unit